Board Members

Big Country Athletic Hall of Fame
Board of Directors

  • Al Pickett, Abilene – Chairman
  • Alan Wartes, Abilene – Vice Chairman
  • Phil Blue, Abilene – Secretary
  • David Smith, Abilene – Treasurer
  • Beverly Ball, Abilene
  • Ray Berry, Abilene
  • Russell Berry, Abilene
  • Randy Bibb, Abilene
  • Carl Childers, Abilene
  • James Decker, Stamford
  • Gerald Galbraith, Abilene
  • Pat Gerald, Sweetwater
  • Ron Holmes, Abilene
  • Art Maberry, Sweetwater
  • Larry May, Sweetwater
  • Leif Merck, Abilene
  • Rick Meyers, Abilene
  • George Nichols, Abilene
  • Charles Shira, Hamlin
  • Steve Smith, Ballinger
  • Tom Stanton, Waco
  • Steve Warren, Abilene

Selection Committee

This committee is comprised of local and area sports and media personnel and the Hall of Fame Board of Directors. This group narrows down the list to around 20 names. That list is then sent to donors who contribute $500 or more that year prior to August. Those who received the top votes are then sent back to the Board for final selection for the upcoming year. If still living, the selected individuals must agree to attend the banquet usually held in April or May so alternates are also selected.