Eight new inductees announced!


An Olympian, a former major league pitcher and a Lombardi Trophy winner as the nation’s top lineman are among the Class of 2013 announced for the Big Country Athletic Hall of Fame.

The 12th annual Big Country Athletic Hall of Fame induction banquet will be held May 6 at 6:30 p.m. at the Abilene Civic Center. Tickets are $40 each and tables of 10 can be purchased for $750.

Selected to this year’s class are former Abilene High and Texas Tech track star Jonathan Johnson, Snyder and University of Texas all-American football player Tony DeGrate, former Brownwood and University of Texas all-American pitcher Jerry Don Gleaton, former Breckenridge and University of Oklahoma running back Jakie Sandefer, and former Abilene Cooper and current McMurry track coach Barbara Crousen.

Former Abilene High baseball player Jim Mallon, who won more than 1,000 games as the baseball coach at Southwestern University, will be inducted posthumously. Also going into the Hall of Fame will be Abilene veterinarian Dr. Lynn Lawhon, who will receive the Lifetime Achievement for Officiating, and former Abilene High basketball stars Richard, David and Mike Little, who will receive the Legacy Award from the Hall of Fame.